Reasons for wanting to start a food blog

8 Jul

1. Food meet Erica, Erica meet Food –
For me much of this project is about improving the relationship I have with my food: where it comes from, what it’s comprised of, the journey it took to get to my table, how I use food, how to prevent wasting it. My wish is to have a closer connection with the stuff I’m fueling my body with. I wanted to create a space to work through and share ideas about food. My hope is that it will be very open – I’d like it to include general journaling, creative writing, responses to articles, links to food-related sites that make me happy, and recipes.

2. Eating locally –
Josh and I talked about trying to do a 100 mile diet and I feel like that’s a little too ambitious for me right now but I still really want to increase my consciousness about my food. And pay special attention to eating locally! It goes way beyond having some nice organic veggies in your stomach – it’s about enriching our communities, improving our environment, supporting the local economy, getting to know our neighbors, and a return to farming the way it should be. The first step in this process was joining a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) farm co-op two summers ago. Since then I’ve grown increasingly passionate about food issues.

3. Influential reading –
I’ve just started reading Michael Pollan’s book The Omnivore’s Dilemma. I highly recommend it. How can it not change the way we think about food – in our bodies, in our culture, in our communities, and in our economy? I get more and more riled up with each page I read. My first introduction to Michael Pollan was an article that appeared in the New York Times this past January titled, “Unhappy Meals.” He proposes we should: “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.” As a nation we have fallen victim to “nutritionism” (e.g. “eat omega-3s – you need them to be healthy!” or “eat more protein and less carbs!”) and he suggests a movement back towards “real” whole foods.  I read it and felt that he captured something I so strongly believe in and articulated things I’ve been struggling to put into words for a long time.

I also just read a book by a woman named Julie Powell who decided to cook all 524 recipes in Julia Child’s book Mastering the Art of French Cooking within the course of one year and she blogs about it the whole way through. While her project and this one are very different, I felt inspired by her respect for food and her dedication to slow cooking.

4. Waste not, want not –
I want to be held accountable for my use of food – what better way than to do it publicly on the web. This includes our vegetables from the farm and whatever we buy at the store.

I am the queen of uneaten leftovers. Despite the fact that I know there’s only two of us I often cook enough to feed a small village. Leftovers are rarely appealing to me the next day and we often end up with mystery containers in the back of the fridge.

We get an average of 14 pounds of vegetables every week in our farm share over the summer and fall months. That’s a lot of food. We get creative and try new recipes, we’ve taught ourselves how to can, we have potlucks, we share our farm food with friends and neighbors BUT there are still times when we waste food. Part of this waste-not philosophy is recognizing that we need to exercise moderation when we’re picking up our veggies at the farm. Even though our share includes an average of 14 pounds per week doesn’t mean we need to or should take that much. The food is pre-paid for and it’s such beautiful organic produce it’s hard not to get carried away sometimes and take more than we need or will actually use. This year I’m saying no to slimy spinach and rotten carrots.

One Response to “Reasons for wanting to start a food blog”

  1. Amy Dickinson July 9, 2007 at 10:01 pm #

    I’m saying yes to virtual participation in this venture. What better way to maintain–from across the country–the community that food helped us forge?

Leave a Reply

