Northwest observations

16 Jul

Written on 7/6/07

While we were in Seattle we spent some time wandering around Pike Place Market. I love it there. It’s such an overwhelming whirlwind of sights and smells. The food and flowers are so gorgeous. I can even appreciate the beauty of the oysters and big dead salmon sprawled out on beds of ice for everyone walking by to admire. I bought some local, organic bing cherries. They were at their peak and amazing – probably the best I’ve ever had. Also tried some apriums (cross between an apricot and plum). Interesting but didn’t blow me away. Driving from Seattle to the San Juan Islands, the road to the ferry terminal in Anacortes was lined with farm stands selling strawberries and cherries. I always associate Washington with apples and I forget it has so much more to offer.

Leave a Reply

