Keeping up with the vegetables

19 Jul

Still trying to find a balance with the amount of vegetables we bring home from the farm every week. This week I really tried to curb myself because I knew we still had a bunch of stuff from last week to work our way through. That daunting head of napa cabbage! I’ve made two different types of asian inspired salads and still have some left to use up. Otherwise we’re doing pretty well. Been snacking on the snap peas and snow peas and still eating lots of salads. We made delicious zucchini -blueberry bread and muffins.I recently discovered the forgotten rhubarb in the back of the crisper drawer of the fridge, all rubbery and limp. I love rhubarb too. I can’t believe we let that happen!

From last week we still need to eat up: beets, lettuce, radishes, 1 zucchini, a few snow peas, a couple tiny carrots

Added to that is this week’s share: a summer squash and a couple little patty pan squashes, more carrots, more lettuce, kale, scallions, green and yellow beans, and a couple bulbs of fennel

So far so good though. We ate some carrots, snap peas, and snow peas for dinner last night. I used up some of the scallions in a salad. And we had some of the green and yellow beans for dinner tonight. We’re plugging away. Luckily we have a potluck dinner tomorrow night and can cook up a bunch of the veggies and/or give some to friends to take home with them.

3 Responses to “Keeping up with the vegetables”

  1. BTO July 19, 2007 at 4:08 pm #

    J&E – can you post that link to the 100-mile diet?

  2. Emma July 26, 2007 at 5:09 pm #

    Perhaps it’s a ritual of humility to go to the CSA stand and shop…

    I have the same problem with my veggies – it’s hard to negotiate how much one can consume in a week and how much just feels comforting in the canvas bag. I love to walk home with the leafy parts of a bunch of carrots proclaiming their presence to all the cars passing by! Then again I hate to throw them out after a few days because I forgot about them or caved in to ordering pizza instead…

  3. Josh July 26, 2007 at 10:14 pm #

    Emma,
    I think you have nailed the conflict exactly… you may also be interested in my earlier post about Wants and Needs…
    https://kitchendancing.wordpress.com/2007/07/16/wants-and-needs/

Leave a Reply

