Food Songs, part two

13 Apr

Erica and I have seen the Nields play a number of times and we love their music and the great local songs they write. This one is off of a wonderful album they put together of the songs they sang with the family when they were growing up. The title seems fitting for this blog (All Together Singing in the Kitchen) and the songs are a good fit too. Enjoy.


Plant an Even Row

by Nerissa Nields, Peter Quince Publishing

I am planting an even row
I am planting an even row
I am planting an even row
Every day
I am planting an even row

Pulling up the stones as I go
I am planting an even row
Every day
I am planning carrots and peas
I am planning carrots and peas
I am planning carrots and peas
Every day
I am planting carrots and peas
Next I’ll put in the apple trees
I am planning carrots and peas
Every day

I am planting the apple trees
I am planting the apple trees
I am planting the apple trees
Every day
I am planting the apple trees
Next I’ll call on the honey bees
I am planting the apple trees
Every day
I am calling the honey bees
I am calling the honey bees
I am calling the honey bees
Every day
I am calling the honey bees
Won’t you make me some honey now,
Please?
I am calling the honey bees
Every day

I am calling Emmett and Reese
I am calling Emmett and Reese
I am calling Emmett and Reese
Every day
I am calling Emmett and Reese
How are you, my nephew and niece?
I am calling Emmett and Reese
Every day

I am planting a garden for Emmett and Reese
Planting a garden for Emmett and Reese
Planting a garden for Emmett and Reese
Every day
I am planting a garden for Emmett and Reese
Down here on the dirt of my knees
Planting a garden for Emmett and Reese
Every day

See more of the Nields here:

One Response to “Food Songs, part two”

  1. Michael April 24, 2008 at 2:08 pm #

    Please check out a blog about a recent Nields Concert at the Calvin Theatre in Northampton here at http://busacksblog.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

