Zucchini Bread

20 Aug

Zucchini season is now officially in full swing. I’m sure I’m not alone in feeling challenged by what to do with it all. I am not normally a huge fan of zucchini bread but I love this recipe I got from my sister-in-law. I am always looking for ways to use the zucchini from the farm and I love the addition of blueberries since they are also in season right now. Make an extra loaf and share it with your neighbor!

Zucchini Bread

1 1/2 cup grated zucchini

1/2 cup oil

1/2 cup maple syrup or honey

2 eggs, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

Optional: a handful or two of fresh blueberries

If you do add the blueberries you can substitute some lemon zest for the cinnamon.

Gently mix all ingredients and bake in a greased 9x5x3 inch loaf pan for 45-60 minutes at 350 degrees.

I recommend keeping this bread in the refrigerator. Otherwise it spoils quickly since it contains so much fresh veg and fruit. I hope you enjoy!

4 Responses to “Zucchini Bread”

  1. seekingsibling August 20, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    Excellent! I have 2 big zucchini waiting to become something right now.

  2. Christine Pilch August 21, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

    You can also throw in a handful of chocolate chips if you don’t have blueberries.

    • Erica August 25, 2009 at 9:55 am #

      Great idea! I never thought of that before. Reminds me of a zucchini chocolate cake a friend made once. The squash made it really moist. I wouldn’t think of zucchini and chocolate as a natural match but it works!

  3. little sis August 21, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Glad you like this recipe! It’s one of my faves. Great as muffins too!!

Leave a Reply

