Here we go again…

31 May

Hello dear readers!

After an inexcusably long hiatus, I am making another attempt. Time to recommit myself to Kitchen Dancing!  And what better time than now when inspiration is sprouting from the earth all around us.

As we have been anxiously awaiting the start date for our CSA, we have been biding our time eating local fiddleheads, asparagus, rhubarb, and just yesterday delicious, delicate, buttery lettuce that poor Josh had to listen to me gush about for at least 5 minutes as I was preparing our salad.

Sadly we have left Brookfield Farm in Amherst. We have loved Brookfield and when we first moved to the area we felt so welcomed there. As we were struggling to settle ourselves into the community socially and professionally, Brookfield was a place where Josh and I felt instantly at home. Since then, every move we have made to a new apartment or house  has taken us a little farther away from the farm. Last year, busy with a new house and a new baby, we felt like the drive was long and that we weren’t able to take full advantage of the farm. With mixed emotions, we are making the switch to Mountain View Farm this season, another organic CSA that is very close to where we are living now. Our first pick-up is in a couple days. Stay tuned for a post about my first impressions, plus more seasonal recipes, new RecipeHacking challenges, and more!

6 Responses to “Here we go again…”

  1. seekingsibling May 31, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Here’s a great rhubarb recipe I ran across while trying to figure out what to do with the bushels of rhubarb in my garden, if you’re running out of ideas. I’m thinking Rhubarb ice cream is next! Too bad my rhubarb is green rhubarb and everything comes out the color of snot! I added some strawberries to this for color and because, yum!
    http://www.culinate.com/recipes/collections/Culinate%20Kitchen/Beverages/rhubarb_cosmopolitan

  2. seekingsibling May 31, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Oh, and the companion pop recipe:
    http://www.culinate.com/recipes/collections/Culinate%20Kitchen/Beverages/rhubarb_soda

  3. seekingsibling May 31, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Oh, and saw this and thought of you too:
    http://heirloomgardens.blogspot.com/2010/05/10-secrets-for-making-most-of-your-csa.html

    Can you tell I like reading your recipes/blog? :p

  4. Erica May 31, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Cathy –
    You get the prize for being the first and fastest to respond to me getting the blog up and running again. Thank you for taking an interest!
    It’s so funny you posted these links. Just minutes before, I was telling Josh that we need to try that rhubarb soda you posted on FB! I think my afternoon now requires finding some rhubarb to give that recipe a taste test!
    – E

  5. Sarah Long May 31, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    I picked up my first share of the season at Mountain View Farm today. They already have u-pick strawberries that were amazing, lettuces, colorful radishes, and swiss chard- it felt so great to go back there again- I hope you’ll enjoy your share there as well.

  6. Fredrik June 1, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Hi dear cousin,
    I enjoy following this blog even though I am not so active in the kitchen myself.
    On a side note I will be going to a job interview on the 16th, its for a job in Halmstad in the south of Sweden.

    Hugs to the three of you!

    // Fredrik

Leave a Reply

