Rhubarb Soda

1 Jun

It’s peak time for rhubarb in these here parts. I love the unique flavor of rhubarb but often don’t know what to do with it beyond putting it in a pie or tart. That’s why when my friend Cathy mentioned this recipe I immediately went in search of some native rhubarb and within hours was attempting it myself. Cathy found this recipe on the Culinate website.

1 1/2 cups rhubarb, chopped

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups water

Sparkling water and ice

Combine rhubarb, sugar, and water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil, then turn down and let simmer for 15 minutes. The syrup should turn pinkish as the rhubarb cooks. I used a potato masher to squish the rhubarb and help it break down a bit to really infuse the syrup. Once it’s done cooking for a while, let it cool, then strain it into an airtight container. Store the syrup in the refrigerator. (Don’t throw away the pulpy rhubarb after you strain the liquid out of it. You can save it to put in yogurt or over ice cream!) To make soda, mix 1/4 cup of the syrup into a glass of sparkling water and add ice. It’s also been rumored to make a mean cosmopolitan!

I bought WAY too much rhubarb and ended up tripling the recipe. I also just blindly followed the recipe and didn’t taste it as I went along. Regretfully, I think the proportions are a little off. My syrup turned out too sweet and ended up entirely masking the tartness of the rhubarb. Next time I would use less sugar and taste as I go.

Leave a Reply

