Spring is here!

10 Apr

I wrote this on Friday but I’m just getting around to posting today…

We’ve had a few glimpses so far but today is the first day I feel like it’s really, truly spring.

Right now I’m at my parents’ house in Rhode Island, in the country. And it’s such a refreshing change from my neighborhood at home where we live on a busy street, where there’s always fast and noisy cars. Walking down the sidewalk there, whether it’s with my dog or with my son, I always feel like my guard is up because there’s no shoulder and the space between the zooming cars and the sidewalk is dangerously small.

Today my son, Toby and I took a walk down my parents’ quiet road. There are no sidewalks here because there’s really no need, there’s no traffic at all. It is so quiet and peaceful. We just moseyed along and listened to the birds. Toby was all set to get bundled up when I told him we were going for a walk and he seemed puzzled when I told him he didn’t need to today. We got outside and he cheerfully declared, “It’s warm out! We no need hats!” He’s only two and a half. He doesn’t understand the changing of the seasons yet. He probably thought it was going to be winter forever. And I admit, I was beginning to feel that way too.

Along our walk the road makes a little bridge over a brook and we spent quite a lot of time throwing sticks off one side of the bridge and then running across the road to see them come out the other side. This seems like it could get tedious, but instead of feeling like I was merely humoring my son, I was having just as much fun as he was.

We walked down to the lake and threw rocks and acorns into the water. Along the edge where the water was lapping on the sand, there were little red buds lining the shore that must have blown off a nearby tree. They felt so affirming somehow. No, it’s not a figment of your imagination, it really is spring. I enjoy reading this blog: Red Bird Crafts. Once a week the author focuses on some sort of treasure. She says, “It might be thrifted or found on a walk or whispered in my ear or discovered on a dark shelf in the basement. Something. Anything that makes me feel lucky and thankful. It doesn’t necessarily have to make its way home with me – it just has to be noticed. The idea is for it to cost very little and feel very big. After all, this isn’t about acquiring new things; it is about paying better attention to the world around me.”

I was remembering that today as I found these little buds. I felt like they were my treasure this week. They certainly fit her definition: they cost me nothing, were worthy of some special attention, and felt like something big – a message saying, “keep your chin up – it’s getting warmer, and easier, and more beautiful, and more hopeful.”

One Response to “Spring is here!”

  1. emily April 10, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Oh, Erica. Your buds are so beautiful and filled with hope and promise. Thank you for sharing your treasure with me: your blog post is my Sunday night treasure. Perhaps, we’ll run into each other in this happy little valley of ours. xo e

Leave a Reply

