RecipeHacking Challenge # 6: Burritos

4 May

Are you ready for the next RecipeHacking challenge? This time around we’re going to hack BURRITOS! Everyone’s favorite hand-held meal on the go. Coincidentally, this is right in time for Cinco de Mayo.

Burritos lend themselves so well to improvisation. They seem like a natural choice for RecipeHacking. I don’t really feel the need to put an original recipe. At it’s most basic, a burrito is a tortilla stuffed with beans and cheese, maybe some rice and then can be doctored up with whatever meat, veggies, or condiments your heart desires.

What’s your favorite kind of burrito? I encourage you all to think outside the box…or the tortilla as the case may be. Consider toying with the ingredients/flavors/spices/ethnicity…and/or the presentation. Is a burrito still a burrito if it’s not wrapped up in a single tortilla? Does it have to be a tortilla? What else could you use? The possibilities are endless. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

As usual, please post your recipes in the comments section below. The deadline for this hack is Monday, May 30th.

If you’re unfamiliar with RecipeHacking here’s the basic premise. If you’re interested, you can look back at previous posts to see how we’ve challenged our readers to hack macaroni and cheesebeans and ricepizzathanksgiving leftovers, and shepherd’s pie.

8 Responses to “RecipeHacking Challenge # 6: Burritos”

  1. Violetsouffle May 5, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Not sure if this counts, but a humongous favorite in our house is:
    One whole wheat tortilla
    Two tablespoons whipped
    Cream Cheese spread on it, and a banana in the middle.
    It’s healthy, protein-and carb rich, and above all, a totally delicious snack, especially for kids 🙂

  2. Cathy May 5, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Now burritos I love! I’ll try to post a toyed with version later, but I thought I’d start with our fastest after-work dinner because is delicious, easy and, despite being all canned food, not too bad for you.

    1 can black beans
    Chopped half of onion
    1 can hominy
    1 can diced green Chilis
    shredded cheese
    Tortilla
    Whatever combo of chili powder, cumin (it’s necessary, Erica, I swear!), and a pinch of cayenne red pepper you like.

    Sautee onion in dash of oil until clear.
    Add Chilis for a minute
    Add rinsed drained beans and drained hominy
    Cook until warm. Throw into burrito with cheese and salsa and whatever else suits your fancy.

    The hominy adds a nice southwestern kick.

  3. Rhi@The Challenged Cook May 6, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    Here’s my vegan, gluten-free version of burritos.
    Heat a little oil in a saucepan, add 2 cups cooked, drained beans (I like red kidney, but whatever you like). Mash with a potato masher or fork, continue to heat gently. Add 1tsp ground cumin, 1tsp ground coriander, and as much chilli powder as you can handle (I use 1/4 tsp and it’s kicky

  4. Rhi@The Challenged Cook May 6, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    Thank-you iPhone, but I didn’t want to publish yet. Grrrrrrr. Could you just remove my half-post please?

    Here’s my vegan, gluten-free mostly raw version of burritos.
    Heat a little oil in a saucepan, add 2 cups cooked, drained beans (I like red kidney, but whatever you like). Mash with a potato masher or fork, continue to heat gently. Add 1tsp ground cumin, 1tsp ground coriander, and as much chilli powder as you can handle (I use 1/4 tsp and it’s kicky) cook for a few minutes, the scoop into a serving bowl.
    Lay out separate bowls of (some or all of these) chopped tomatoes, grated carrot, grated
    cucumber, alfalfa sprouts, sliced avocado, sliced salad onion, sliced raw peppers, and any other salad stuff you like.
    Use a large lettuce leaf as a tortilla, fill, wrap, eat.

  5. seekingsibling May 7, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Ok, here are my tofu burritos, which I modified from a recipe in Real Simple. I didn’t believe tofu could taste good like this, but I LOVE it.

    Extra-firm tofu, drained, patted dry and crumbled.
    1/5 t chili powder
    salt and pepper
    about 2 cups of frozen corn, thawed.
    6 cups loosely packed cups spinach
    whole wheat tortillas
    goat cheese, crumbled (you can sub feta, but I much prefer the goat cheese)
    salsa

    Let the salsa soak in a little salsa for a bit (you can skip this, but I like the extra kick)

    Heat a little olive oil over high heat. Add tofu, chili powder, 1/2 t salt and 1/2 t pepper. Cook for 5ish minutes.

    Add the corn and cook for another 2 minutes or so.

    Add the spinach and 1/4 t salt and pepper. Toss until wilted.

    Fill tortillas with tofu mixture, salsa and top with goat cheese before wrapping up.

    • Erica May 8, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      Did you mean let the tofu soak in the salsa? Just wanted to clarify. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      • seekingsibling May 11, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

        I don’t soak it really. Just mix a couple teaspoons in.

  6. matt May 16, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    You know. I was making burritos last night and even thought about taking pictures because everything came out so well, but I didn’t. Anyway, these burritos started a few weeks ago when I made up a huge batch of black beans because we buy the #10 tin can from Costco every time we go and I just make ’em up all at once and then freeze a bunch of portions. So anyway, I had some of those good to go. (beans, spices, onions, simmered until almost creamy). Then the next thing was I had a whole shelf in the freezer full of various hot peppers I grew last year and then smoked to preserve and I hadn’t done anything with them. So I covered them with vinegar in a pan and simmered them all morning, then chucked the whole mess into a blender. I now have a liter of this really excellent hot sauce in the fridge and a shelf in my freezer back. So then I was thinking burritos since I had made this hot sauce and I knew I had the beans. I chopped up some chicken and an equal amount of broccoli and hit it with some olive oil/salt/pepper/cumin and stir fried it. While that was going I peeled two sweet potatoes and microwaved them for four minutes, then diced them and added to the chicken/broccoli and cooked until the chicken was done but still tender. I didn’t have any tortillas so I made some. I’d say it was about a cup and a half of flour (I had to shake out several bags to get enough so it was like 1/3 each of whole wheat, white, and rye flour) with maybe 1/4 cup of oil and some salt and water, kneaded into a soft dough and divided into about 8 little balls the size of golf balls. I rested those for a half hour then rolled them out thin, one at a time and dry-fried them one at a time for about a minute a side. (keep the dough covered and cover the finished tortillas as you go to keep everything moist and happy) Last I took some of that hot sauce and whisked in a little cream cheese to temper the bite a bit. Piled everything on plates and dug in. That’s my burrito.

Leave a Reply

